ELECTRICAL PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE
Effective: February 15, 2017
Electrical Permit Fees will be based on the current State Electrical Fee Schedule plus 15%, and an electrical plan review fee of 65% of the permit fee will be assessed when an electrical plan review is required.
Fees are computed according to the appropriate chart below.
Fees are based on A, B, C, or D below. Do not use more than one table to determine your fee.
If a permit is not filed in advance of the commencement of an installation, the inspection fee will be double, as prescribed by Colorado Revised Statute §12-23-117(3).
Temporary construction meters require a separate permit application from any other activity.
Trim permit. If a permit expires after the rough-in inspection has been completed, inspected, and approved by the electrical inspector, but before the final inspection is approved, a TRIM permit must be obtained. The fee is based on the valuation of the electrical remaining work to be inspected. Minimum fee / fee +15% is $135 / $155.25.
A. Residential Electrical Only Installation: (new, remodel, addition) (round sq. ft. up to next 100 for calculation)
|Residential Installation - Based on enclosed living area only||FEE / FEE+15%|
|(1) Equal to or less than 1,000 square feet||$135 / $155.25|
|(2) 1,001 square feet but equal to or less than 1,500 square feet||$202 / $232.30|
|(3) 1,501 square feet but equal to or less than 2,000 square feet||$270 / $310.50|
|(4) Greater than 2,001 square feet ($270 / $310.50 + ($13.50 / $15.50 x each additional 100 sq. ft.))|
Example: (2,235 sq.ft.) first 2,000 sq. ft. = $270 / $310.50 plus 300 (235 rounded up to next 100) x $13.50 / $15.50 = $310.50 / $357
B. Commercial and other fees: Including some residential installations that are not based on square footage (not in a living area, i.e. garage, shop, etc.). Fees in this section are calculated from the total cost to customer (contract price), including electrical materials, items and labor- whether provided by the contractor or the property owner.
|Valuation of Installation - (Based on cost to customer of labor, materials, and items):||FEE / FEE+15%|
|(1) Equal to or less than $2,000 = $135 / $155.25 (base fee)||$135 / $155.25|
|(2) Greater than $2,001 add $13.50 / $15.50 per thousand of job valuation
(always round up the next $1,000) to the Base Fee ($135 / $155.25)
The cost of the installation is $5,150 (round up to $6000) (6 x $13.50 / $15.50 = $81 / $93)
The base (shown above): $135 / $155.25 + (6 x $13.50 / $15.50) $81 / $93 = $216 / $248.25 total fee
|FEE / FEE+15%|
|C. Mobile/Modular/Manufactured home set (per unit)||$135 / $155.25|
|D. Temporary heat release||$67.50 / $77.60|
RE-INSPECTION FEE ($50): A re-inspection fee may be assessed when additional inspections are required when the job is not ready for inspection (if 5 or more correction items are cited), access is not provided, violations from the last inspection are not completed, etc.
PLEASE NOTE: Applicants should be prepared to do the following:
• Use the online permit system to request an inspection when job is ready.
• Ensure that the work is completed within the time limitation of the permit.
• Install wiring according to the currently adopted edition of the Colorado Electrical Code (NEC).
• Request an electrical installation inspection prior to covering and a final inspection prior to occupancy.