Xpress BillPay is currently experiencing a heavy load on their website, making the site currently unavailable to customers during peak usage daytime hours. Town Finance and IT Staff have spoken with representatives from Xpress BillPay to relay our concerns regarding this inconvenience for our customers. They apologize for the inconvenience and recommend using the site between 6pm & 8am MDT as they work to resolve the problem created by unusually high traffic.
If you are unable to access Xpress BillPay during these recommended times, you may access a paper return here. Mail the return along with a check to Town of Breckenridge PO Box 1517, Breckenridge, CO 80424. Returns are entered utilizing the postmark date on the envelope as the date filed. Paper filing fees will be waived until May 1, 2020.
Note that tax returns with $0 in tax due will not have penalty or interest applied and can be remitted at a later date.
Due to these challenges presented by the outage of Xpress BillPay, penalty and interest will be waived for all March & Q1 2020 tax returns until May 1, 2020.
On June 13, 2017 Breckenridge Town Council adopted an ordinance amending Breckenridge Town Code requiring those advertising Short Term Rental Units to list their Town License Number in all advertisements. Please see the link to the Ordinance and the Administrative Guidelines for further information.
For information please see the Administrative Guidelines:
In an effort to further the goals of the Town's Vision Plan through environmental and economic sustainability, the Finance Services Division does not supply printed tax booklets.
On November 2, 2010, the voters of Breckenridge approved a 1% increase to the Accommodations Tax beginning January 1, 2011 to provide sustainable marketing funds.
The Town requires hotels, motels, bed & breakfasts, property management companies, and homeowners who short-term lease (less than 30 days) their Breckenridge residences to collect a 3.4% Breckenridge Public Accommodation Tax, which is remitted directly to the Town of Breckenridge along with the 2.5% sales tax. For your convenience, the sales and accommodations taxes are reported on the same tax return.
All businesses, property managers, and homeowners collecting the accommodations tax are required to have an Accommodation Unit License and a Colorado Sales Tax License. To obtain a Town license, contact the Town Clerk's office for an application. After your application is received and approved, you will be designated as a monthly or quarterly filer and a business license will be mailed to you. Sales tax returns, along with the appropriate remittance of sales tax collected, are due on the 20th of each month following the period they were collected. Late returns are penalized with a penalty of 10% of the sales tax (minimum of $15) plus 1% interest for each month the payment is outstanding.
The Colorado Department of Revenue collects state and county taxes and is the agency where businesses register trade names. The toll-free telephone number for the New Business Hotline is 1-800-333-7798 or http://www.sos.state.co.us/. State application forms and general information for conducting business in Colorado is available by calling that number. Colorado Business Registration forms, CR100, and instructions are available on the state's website, https://www.colorado.gov/revenue. Summit County, the county in which Breckenridge is located, requires no business license.
Please contact the Accounting Coordinator with any questions at 970-453-3182 or WebsiteFinance@townofbreckenridge.com